Bible and Bhagavad Gita – Common Message On Forgiveness

A prayer of forgiveness
Dear God, I choose as an act of my will, regardless of my feelings, to forgive the person who has wronged me. I release them, and I set myself free to Your healing. With Your help, I will no longer dwell on the situation or continue to talk about it. I thank You for forgiving me as I have forgiven them. I thank You for releasing me. I ask this in Jesus’ name, amen.

A definition for forgiveness could be — giving up my right to hurt you, for hurting me. It is impossible to live on this fallen planet without getting hurt, offended, misunderstood, lied to, and rejected. Learning how to respond properly is one of the basics of the Christian life.

The word “forgive” means to wipe the slate clean, to pardon, to cancel a debt. When we wrong someone, we seek his or her forgiveness in order for the relationship to be restored. It is important to remember that forgiveness is not granted because a person deserves to be forgiven. Instead, it is an act of love, mercy, and grace.

How we act toward that person may change. It doesn’t mean we will put ourselves back into a harmful situation or that we suddenly accept or approve of the person’s continued wrong behavior. It simply means we release them from the wrong they committed against us. We forgive them because God forgave us.

 Chapter – 12 – Shloka -18-19

He who is the same to enemy and friend and also in honor and dishonor, in cold and heat, in pleasure and pain, and who is free from attachment-

जो शत्रु-मित्र में और मान-अपमान में सम है तथा सरदी, गरमी और सुख-दुःखादि द्बन्द्बों में सम हैं और आसक्ति से रहित हैं ।। १८ ।।

He who is neutral in censure and praise, He who is silent, content with anything (in the world), does not claim any residence as his home, he who is steady-minded, full of devotion; that man is dear to Me.

जो निन्दा स्तुति को समान समझने वाला, मननशील और जिस किसी प्रकार से भी शरीर का निर्वाह होने में सदा ही संतुष्ट हैं और रहने के स्थान में ममता और आसक्ति से रहित हैं —–वह स्थिर बुद्भि भक्तिमान् पुरुष मुझको प्रिय हैं ।। १९ ।।

  1. Bible description Ref :  http://www.allaboutgod.com/definition-for-forgiveness-faq.htm
  2. Gita slok Image Ref : http://www.bhagavad-gita.org/Gita/verse-12-15.html
  3. Gita slok Translation Ref : http://thegita.net/chapter-12    # – Shloka -18
Leave a Reply

